Bhavnagar News
Get all the Daily Latest Bhavnagar and Gujarati News

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Asia Cup 2022: In view of the situation in Sri Lanka, the hosting of the Asia Cup given to the UAE, the tournament will start from August 27


- Advertisement -


  • Asia Cup to be played in UAE
  • To be held in Sri Lanka
  • There will be a clash between six teams

Asia Cup 2022: A big announcement was made by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) regarding the organization of Asia Cup 2022. Under this, the tournament will be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) instead of Sri Lanka. This was officially announced by the ACC on Wednesday. A press release issued by the Asian Cricket Council said that in view of the current situation in Sri Lanka, the ACC, after extensive deliberations, has unanimously concluded that it would be appropriate to move the tournament from Sri Lanka to the United Arab Emirates.

Sri Lankan cricket agreed

In this regard, Sri Lanka Cricket President Shammi Silva said that we were really looking forward to hosting our Asian neighbors in Sri Lanka for the much awaited Asia Cup. While I fully stand with the ACC’s decision to move the Asia Cup to the UAE given the current context and the magnitude of the event, Sri Lanka Cricket will work closely with the ACC and Emirates Cricket Board to ensure that we have Still an exciting edition of the Asia Cup.

Tournament will start from 27th August

It is worth noting that this tournament to be played between six Asian countries will start from August 27. While the final match will be played on September 11. This year this tournament will be played in 20-20 format.

India defending champion

India last captured the title in 2018 by defeating Bangladesh. At that time the command of the Indian team was in the hands of Rohit Sharma. Let us tell you that the Asia Cup has been organized thrice in the UAE before and Team India has won every time.

India seven time champion

Talking about the performance of the Indian team in the tournament, so far it has won this tournament 7 times. India has been the champion of this tournament in 1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018. Team India is the team to win this title the most times in the history of this tournament. Apart from this, Sri Lanka has won this title 5 times and Pakistan twice. In such a situation, India can get a big advantage by coming to UAE once again.

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!