Bhavnagar News
Get all the Daily Latest Bhavnagar and Gujarati News

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

IND vs WI T20 Match 2022 | Under the captaincy of Shikhar Dhawan, India’s B team will take the field against the West Indies, a tough test for the players


- Advertisement -

Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan-led India will take on West Indies in the first ODI of the three-match series starting in Trinidad on Friday, July 22. The series is taking place at a time when discussions are on in full swing to organize bilateral ODI matches. The hectic schedule of international cricket, especially bilateral series, has gained momentum after Ben Stokes’ sudden retirement from ODIs. The England all-rounder has made it clear that it is impossible to play regularly in all three formats. In such a situation, it is becoming difficult for one-day cricket to find its place in the middle of Test and T20.

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

West Indies vs India

West Indies came to India in February to play three ODIs and as many T20 matches and the limited overs series is happening again between these two teams. With the T20 World Cup going to be played this year, the importance of ODIs has diminished a bit but in the absence of top players, new players will get a chance and would like to make a mark in this series.

Shikhar Dhawan will captain India

Dhawan, playing only in the ODI format, will lead India for the second time in his career as regular skipper Rohit Sharma has been rested for the series. Apart from them, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya and Virat Kohli have also been rested. The England series showed that if a player did not regularly play at the top level, then the task would not have been easy for him. Dhawan, who has been consistent in his performance, fell far short of delivering his best. It will be interesting to see who opens the innings alongside Dhawan in the first match of the series.

Shubman Gill given one more chance

Shubman Gill is back in the team. He will form a right and left-handed combination with Dhawan but other players in the team can also get a chance to open the innings including Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad. The team management will have to put in some effort to select the players in the middle order. Deepak Hooda, who is in excellent form, can bat at number three and Suryakumar Yadav is also certain to be selected in the playing XI. In such a situation, the team management will have to decide whether to choose between Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson. Iyer will be under pressure as his weakness in the face of short pitch deliveries came to the fore during the tour of England.

Hardik Pandya rested

In Hardik’s absence, Shardul Thakur will be a substitute for the fast bowling all-rounder for India. The pitch is expected to help the spinners and in such a situation, Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravindra Jadeja can play in all three matches. Axar Patel is the option as the third spinner. Pacer Arshdeep Singh, who missed the ODIs in England due to a hamstring strain, may get a chance to make his ODI debut on Friday as he was seen bowling a lot in the nets on Thursday. The famous Krishna and Mohammad Siraj will be in the playing XI as the main bowlers.

West Indies is facing difficulties

The recent performance of West Indies has not been good. They had to face defeat 0-3 in the ODI series against Bangladesh. All-rounder Jason Holder has made a comeback and this has brought balance to the Nichollspooran-led side. The Caribbean team will try to improve in some areas, including the batting. In the recent matches, his team had failed to play all their 50 overs. After the World Cup 2019, his team was able to play all 50 overs in only six out of 39 innings and this is a matter of concern for the team.

The teams are as follows:

India: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (vc), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Famous Krishna, Mohammad Siraj and Arshdeep Singh. West Indies: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Shamar Brooks, Kesey Carty, Jason Holder, Akil Hossain, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Meyers, Gudkesh Moti, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Jaden Seals. The match will start at 7:00 PM IST.

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!