Badminton Asia Championship apologizes to PV Sindhu
- Badminton Asia Technical Committee apologizes to Sindhu
- Sindhu had to lose one point due to umpire’s mistake
- Sindhu had to be content with bronze medal in Badminton Asia Championships
PV Sindhu won the bronze medal in the Asian Championships badminton tournament in April. She lost to Akane Yamaguchi of Japan in the semi-finals of the tournament, leaving her in tears on the court. All this happened because of the erroneous decision of the chair umpire. Although the color of his defeat or medal cannot be compensated, but the sorrow caused by the defeat has definitely become lighter.
Badminton Asia Championship apologizes to Sindhu
Badminton Asia Technical Committee chairman Chi Shen Chen has apologized to Sindhu, a two-time Olympic medalist. She has apologized for the human error of the referee in the women’s singles semifinals of the Badminton Asia Championships.
The glitch happened during the match between Sindhu and Akane Yamaguchi of Japan, where Sindhu had lost three games. The Indian shuttler was leading 14-11 in the second game after winning the first game. Just then, the umpire imposed a one point penalty on Sindhu for her delay in serving.
The decision distracted the Olympic medalist and shifted momentum towards Yamaguchi. Sindhu lost this match 21-13, 19-21, 16-21. After this incident, tears came out on the court of Indian star shuttler Sindhu.
Now the chairman of the Badminton Asia Technical Committee has apologized to the 27-year-old Indian shuttler, saying that necessary steps have been taken to ensure that such human errors do not happen in the future.
“Unfortunately we can’t fix it now,” he said. However, we have taken all necessary steps to avoid such human errors in future. We sincerely apologize to you for your inconvenience. We believe it is a part of the game that has to be accepted.”